Wyoming's three presidential electors cast their votes for Republican Donald Trump during a ceremony at the Wyoming Secretary of State's Office on Monday.

The ballots cast were canvassed by the State Election Director who then reported the results to Governor Matt Mead and Secretary of State Ed Murray.

"The sacred and final step has been taken for our nation and Wyoming's part in the presidential election is now complete," said Murray. "I would like to thank Wyoming's electorate for participating and for delivering a record voter turnout."

Some interest groups attempted to persuade electors to not vote for Trump, but Wyoming law does not allow electors the freedom to cast their vote for anyone but the candidate who wins the popular vote.

Congress will meet in a joint session to conduct the official tally of Electoral College votes on January 6.

The Electoral College consists of 538 electors. A majority of 270 electoral votes are needed to elect the President.

More From 94.3 The X