If you are planning on traveling through Denver International Airport or taking public transportation in Colorado any time in the near future, be sure you are prepared with a mask. According to 9 News, the Transportation Security Administration announced that travelers who refuse to wear a mask could be fined up to $1,500. In some cases, the fine could be higher.

The announcement made Friday applies to passengers on planes, trains, subways, and buses. TSA states that a recommended fine of $250 for first-time offenders and up to $,1,500 or more for repeat offenders. Those that are traveling must wear a mask that covers the nose and mouth. Enforcement has extended into waiting areas at airports, train platforms, and subway stations.

Exemptions under CDC guidelines include children under the age of two and people with a disability that makes it unsafe for them to wear a mask. Travelers are only allowed to remove their masks while eating or drinking.

The requirement for masks for travelers is in line with President Biden's executive order on masks and requirements from the CDC.

94.3 The X logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Source: 9 News

10 Movie, TV Actors That Lived in Colorado


More From 94.3 The X