Are you up to speed with the particulars when it comes to Colorado's "Move Over Law"? If not, then perhaps it's time for a refresher. The photo above offers a good reason why.

The Colorado Department of Transportation shared that photo on Saturday, February 3, 2023. Colorado law requires you to move over a lane if you see emergency or maintenance vehicles stopped ahead. This is what happens when people do not observe the law.

94.3 The X logo
Get our free mobile app

Colorado's 'Move Over Law'

The Colorado Department of Transportation official webpage states, "Traffic-related incidents are the leading cause of death for on-duty law enforcement officers, fire, EMS, maintenance workers, and tow/recovery professionals." The site adds many of these incidents could have been avoided if motorists would have followed Colorado's Move Over Law.

"When you see a responder or a vehicle on the side of the road, move over. We are out there trying to make your commute safer, so give us space to work.” - Chief Matthew C. Packard of the Colorado State Patrol

According to, Colorado State law requires drivers approaching stationary emergency and maintenance vehicles that are displaying flashing lights, including tow trucks, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the closest lane. If it is not safe to do so, motorists must slow down to a reasonable speed safe for existing weather, road, and traffic conditions.

Colorado State Law Traffic Sign / Canva

How Do They Define 'Reasonable Safe Speed'?

The Colorado General Assembly website offers the following information regarding appropriate speeds when approaching stationary emergency and maintenance vehicles on Colorado roads:

Preexisting law requires a driver who is overtaking an emergency vehicle, tow vehicle, or public utility vehicle that is parked on the side of the road to reduce and maintain a safe speed. The act makes it a presumption that the following speeds are safe unless the conditions require a lower speed:


  • 25 miles per hour if the speed limit is less than 45 miles per hour; or
  • At least 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit if the speed limit is 45 miles per hour or more.
Colorado State Law Traffic Brochure / Canva

How Many People Are Aware Of This?

A report from KRDO includes information from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration indicating only 30% of people are familiar with this law, despite similar laws in all 50 states.

The post from KRDO adds, "Colorado State Patrol (CSP) is reminding drivers the phrase "slow down, move over" applies to tow and maintenance vehicles too."

White Knuckle Your Way Down Colorado's Most Dangerous Roads

Slivers of asphalt cling to mountainsides with barely enough room for a subcompact car, let alone the monster RVs peppering the roadways. Blind corners leave even the most experienced drivers wondering what awaits around the bend. Let's not forget the thousand-foot drops with nothing between safety and impending doom but a thin slice of gravel -- talk about white knuckles.

If you're brave enough to "risk your life" for beautiful views, you won't be disappointed.

How many of these dangerous roads have you traveled in Colorado?

Strangest Laws in Colorado You're Probably Breaking Right Now

We all try our hardest to follow the law, even when we don't agree with them. We took a look at some of Colorado's laws and discovered a few that make no sense at all.

We know drinking and driving is illegal, but did you know riding a horse while intoxicated is illegal. Or take a mule or donkey into a building could get you in trouble.

And whoever threw a missile at a car is someone we'd like to meet.

Take a look at Colorado's most outrageous laws on the books.

Grand Junction Colorado's Least Favorite Roads To Drive Down When it Snows

It doesn't snow often in Grand Junction, but when it does traffic can be a mess. While the snow was falling on Wednesday of this week we asked you which roads you try to avoid the most when it snows. Here are the top answers:

More From 94.3 The X